David Cox is the inaugural recipient of the International Prize in Statistics

David Cox was announced today as the inaugural recipient of the International Prize in Statistics.

My first foray into Statistics was an analysis of Cox models I did for my undegraduate thesis at ENS in 2005. I had no idea back then that David Cox was still alive and active; in my mind, he was a historical figure, on par with other great mathematicians who gave their names to objects of study — Euler, Galois, Lebesgue…

When I arrived at Oxford a few months later, I was amazed to meet him, and to see that he was still very active, both as a researcher and as the organizer of events for doctoral students.

David Cox is the perfect choice as the first person to receive this prize. I hope that the inauguration of this prize will help show the public that Statistics require complex and innovative methods, that have been tackled by some exceptional minds, and should not be seen as a “sub-science” compared to other more “noble” sciences.

Leave a Reply

