CNRS interview

My (short) CNRS interview was just held. Unsurprisingly, given the number of candidates, there was trouble having it on time, but the jury was very friendly.

I had trained myself to present my work and my research project in 120 seconds, which is a challenge. Thankfully, the members of this jury seemed to be statisticians, so I didn’t need to spend time to explain what MCMC is, for example.

The 5 minutes of questions did not leave time to discuss my research project a lot. I was asked what I was most proud of, a question on my PhD and which lab I would like to work in, and that was it. It must be very frustrating for the jury, who needs to make a decision without having time to look at the details of each candidate’s work (I assume they make a shortlist and look a bit more at the work of a small number of candidates).

I have no idea whatsoever on how well or badly the interview went, nor on how important it is. I heard that a few years ago, the Mathematics section of the CNRS only held interviews because they were legally obliged to, and that the interview lasted only a few seconds: the time to sign a sheet of paper. Hopefully, the interviews have at least some weight nowadays.

The results should be (at least unofficially) available in a few days.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

